Maryanne Watts Being your thoughts

Meet Maryanne Watts from Being Your Thoughts

Meet Maryanne Watts

Maryanne and I caught up recently over coffee and had a great chat about our shared passion for helping people.

I also asked Maryanne a bunch of questions so we could get to know her better.

John:   Where are you based?

Maryanne:   I am based in Maitland NSW Australia.  The beautiful Hunter Valley

John:   Where did you grow up?

Maryanne:   I was born in Sydney.  My pre-teen years were spent in Leura in the Blue Mountains and my teen years in a tiny Central West Village called Goolma.  The nearest town was Gulgong. 

John:   What is your area of passion/expertise?

Maryanne:   My area of passion is the mind.  I love reading about the science of it, as well as delving deep into the metaphysics of it.  I started with religion, moved to Philosophy and now I concentrate on what we can do daily to train our thinking so that we can lead a happy, fulfilled and joyful life.

John:   What drives you?

Maryanne:   I did not have a great start in life and I have made many mistakes.  In my 40’s I hit a wall and was ready to give up entirely.  Then I changed my mind, and life became an amazing adventure.  Knowing how much better life can be, I want to share that with anybody who will listen.  All our stress, worry and fears are because of how we think.  It is possible to live a life without the garbage.

John:   What do you do and who do you help?

Maryanne:   I am a personal coach for the mind.  Just as we may require a personal trainer to get our health and fitness in order, sometimes we need a personal trainer for the mind as well.  A personal trainer for the mind helps to build a muscle of gratitude, resilience, creativity, passion and joy. 

John:   Where is your favourite place to travel to?

Maryanne:   My favourite place to travel to is 1770 – this is a coastal town in Northern Queensland between Gladstone and Bundaberg.  I fell in love the first time I saw it and I have been back quite a few times and I have never been disappointed.

John:   What is the one place/thing is at the top of your bucket list that you haven’t got to yet?

Maryanne:   The one place that I would love to visit is either the Maldives or Bora Bora.  It is not the place so much as I would love the experience of staying in a luxury unit over the water.

John:   Favourite eating/drinking experience when travelling? Tell us a story

Maryanne:   When my youngest daughter was 12 we went to France for a month.  One night in Paris we went to a fantastic Italian restaurant near our motel.  They made my daughter feel like a princess, setting her up at a table where she could watch the Paris nightlife, giving her treats and a little extra dessert which was the best gelato/ice-cream I have ever had.

John:   If you had $1000 spare and no rules on how to spend it what would you do?

Maryanne:   Over the years, I have occasionally dabbled in oil-painting, but it has always been the first thing to go when the business of life takes over.  I gave my painting gear to my daughter as I hadn’t touched it for a while.  With a spare $1000 I would buy myself new paints, canvases and brushes as I miss having them available, and I now have more time to indulge.

John:   If people want to know more about you where is the best place for them to find you? Web, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn or other (which is your preference?)

Maryanne:   My website, I have lots more blogs there, check them out, I love hearing feedback on my blogs, beingyourthoughts.com.au

Facebook @beingyourthoughts

On LinkedIn under my name Maryanne Watts.

Leave a Reply

